How to Find your Happy and Live There 

These last two years have been a roller-coaster ride, up, down and around.  I left my job to design my own path and along the way I discovered I had spent like 10 years walking in the wrong direction.  Actually, the direction wasn’t wrong it was just contrary to my belief system. What’s crazy is I needed that contrary to get to where I am now.  I needed that wrong direction to find my happy place.  Do I sound crazy yet? Okay, let me slow down.

Remember on Monday when I shared my thoughts on Shonda Rhimes’ Year of Yes? I was all excited about this season that we’re in and how saying yes gives you the permission you need to be great.  If you have no idea what I am talking about, get caught up.

All caught up, cool!

Her book made two things very clear for me:  I needed to say yes more, more importantly, I needed to do yes; and, in saying and doing yes I would find my happy. Before I took the plunge off the deep end into this sea of entrepreneurship, I was grinding. Much like I am now, just with a completely different end result.  That time of my life was contrary to my belief system because it wasn’t even close to how I wanted to spend my life.  I was an accountant, wearing suits, crunching numbers.  Can you even picture that?  I lived it.  I did well enough to get promoted a few times, make some decent money and inspire a few people but I wasn’t happy.  But, I was content with the lifestyle I had chosen for myself.  It wasn’t until I started listening to those voices inside my head that were telling me to jump.  Jump into my yes.  [Let me interject here, my jump is not your jump. Just because I left my job to create my own path does not mean that’s your destiny.  Your path could be rocking and rolling up that corporate ladder, and that is okay.]

If you know me or at least read my about then you know how volatile entrepreneurship has been for me. Especially since I am figuring myself out in the process.  Crazy, right?Maybe not. The contrary part of my life showed me what I didn’t want to do.  It also highlighted what I love to do, which is help people.  And, in almost every venture since then that’s exactly what I was doing.  Being a supervisor was by far the best experience because I learned to manage different personalities, adjust my task list for the day at a moments notice, and coach people to their best.  Even though I was in my contrary I was being prepared for my life as a visionary.  That taught me to embrace my now.

I have provided you with some clarity, lets get to the point.

What is happy? For me happy is an alignment of how you feel with what you do.  It isn’t always career related, but for the sake of today’s post, that’s our focus.  So, how do you find your happy?

  1. Identify the areas of your life you would like to improve. A lot of time we get comfortable complaining with no real intentions on improving.  The reality is, that mentality is counterproductive.  If you really want to see a change in your life, you will have to do the work.  Make a list of the areas you would like to improve and set a timeline for doing so.  Take a look at some of the areas I highlighted for myself.
  2. Identify your fears. If you’re still reading, chances are you want to know how to find your happy. Your happy is on other side of your fears.  Identify what those areas are and work to overcome them.  I don’t necessarily subscribe to the thought that fears aren’t real; they are as real as your mind tells you they are.  Frankly, it isn’t always an easy task to get over them.  It takes work. Work that you’re prepared to do considering that you’re ready for your happy, right? Check out my quick guide to overcoming fear.
  3. Identify what gives you that happy feeling. When talking with people about their happy place, I always tell them it’s already inside you.  You just have to be still and listen.  Align your thoughts with what makes you happy, then align your actions.
  4. Embrace Your Now. I saved this one for last because it’s kind of a big deal.  I’ve been talking to you guys about moving forward and improvement, right?  Well, I want to make this point very clear.  Embrace your now, be present.  There are so many lessons in what’s happening to you today.  There are so many reasons to be thankful today.  There is so much good in today.  I don’t want you to get so caught up in tomorrow or 6 months from now that you neglect to be grateful.  One of the main contributors to my unhappiness was my insatiable appetite.  I was always looking forward to some point in time that was not today, that wasn’t even close to today and even if I closed my eyes it bared no resemblance to today.  I’m sure with that description you can see why I was unhappy.  I was tying how I felt today to some point in the future that would take some serious time to reach.  This, my friends, ain’t it.  It will put you in all kinds of funks and nobody has time for that. Embrace your now, live in it, love in it, create your happy in it.

My journey seemed brighter, like the sun had marked its territory over my hear.  

And, every step felt lighter, the relief of my burdens I guess.  

The excitement of it all sent palpitations to my chest.  

Overcoming my fears gave me the courage to finally say YES!  

“My Soul Says Yes”

So, what does it all mean.  It means that you are directly responsible for your happy.  You have the ability to impact your divine alignment.  Once you set your goals for what you want to improve, continue to track it.  Work to make those improvements and hold yourself accountability for getting the results you desire.  |Live in Your Happy| Work to overcome your fears, don’t let anything hold you back from the yes in your life.  |Live in Your Happy| Uncover those sources of happiness in your life and find ways to experience them over and over and over again.  |Live in Your Happy| Find the good in today, after all tomorrow isn’t promised.

Are you living in your happy?

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

